Q. What happens in the background when a recipient clicks unsubscribe?
A: Essentially, when a recipient clicks the unsubscribe link from an email, it points to a specific page which uses data in the link to associate the recipient, account and email. The Delivra system then finds that recipient's record in the database and changes their contact status to "unsub." Recipients with that status cannot be sent future emails from that account.
Q. How are unsubscribes filtered out and managed long term?
A: Once a recipient is changed to "unsub" status, they are automatically excluded from future emails sent from an account. That status can not be over-written through a CSV import.
Q. If the contact's status is changed to Unsubscribe, can that person resubscribe at a later date?
A. Yes. That contact can re-subscribe themselves using the Subscribe form.
Or, the person can request to be added back to the list and an administrator can change their status back to normal manually, as described here.
Q. How does Delivra comply with the CAN-SPAM Act
A: CAN-SPAM requires a clear and conspicuous unsubscribe mechanism, which does not require additional information to be provided by the recipient and is processed within 10 days. Delivra's automatic unsubscribe link meets all of those requirements.